What is Yoga? Eight Steps Of Yoga

What is Yoga?

Every day on our planet yoga is becoming more popular, many people are starting to show interest in activities on the rug. Almost everyone has heard the mysterious word – Yoga. Even many celebrities almost from all over the world practice yoga exercises.

However, not everyone knows that yoga is not just an exercise for developing flexibility, restoring health and peace of mind, but a deep and wise system of self-improvement, which is not only a physiology, but also a spiritual component.

Eight Steps Of Yoga

According to the ancient treatise “Yoga Sutras of Patanjali”, in which everything is considered in detail about hatha yoga, there are 8 steps:

1. The pit is an ethical-moral basis.
2. Niyama are methods of selflessness and self-discipline.
3. Asana is physical exercise.
4. Pranayama is a breathing technique.
5. Pratyahara is the curbing of one’s feelings.
6. Dharana is the deep concentration of one’s consciousness on an object.
7. Dhyana is a meditation that comes as a result of Dharana and is accompanied by a soothing consciousness.
8. Samadhi is a state of consciousness, usually caused by deep meditation, in which the human ego’s bonds are weakened, and the inner microcosm merges with the outer “cosmic Absolute.”

The Purposes Of Yoga

The main goal of yoga, according to classical texts, is the attainment of mukti or moksha.

Moksha is liberation from samsara, a cycle of births and deaths, or, if we use Buddhist terminology, the attainment of Nirvana.

However, there are alternative opinions, the most important of which, according to the teachings of the Buddha of the Mahayana and Vajrayana traditions, is that the goal of the development of living beings is the attainment of enlightenment (Bodhi) – the state of the Buddha. It is impossible to describe this state. it is acintya. Achintya is something that can not be understood with the help of the mind, intelligence and intellect.

However, following the path of the Bodhisattva and developing in itself in six perfections – paramitas, everyone can become a Buddha, but this can not take one life.
Nevertheless, as Buddha himself said, giving predictions in the Sadharmapundarikasutra, everyone can come to enlightenment – Anuttara samyak sambodhi.

Author: Team Bulkuse

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *